The Dog Days Are Over

Posted on May 6, 2011

2


That’s it!  Yesterday, I tamed the beast known as the USMLE Step 1 – and not a moment too soon (I’m not sure how much longer I could have kept up with the schedule I set for myself).

Because my brain is fried, and so that those of you who aren’t medical students or physicians can better understand, allow me to convey the roller coaster of emotions that we go through regarding this exam (language NSFW):

Before the exam: 

After the exam: 

I want to thank everyone who gave me their support during what felt like the longest 5 weeks of my life.  Many people don’t realize what some of us put ourselves through, and at a certain point we find ourselves cutting corners and isolating ourselves because there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

Exhibit A: Things I put on the back burner. Yes, I also didn't have enough time to update Firefox. Don't judge me.

I’m looking back to resuming some of the things I enjoyed, and for those of you who are medical students, I plan on dedicating a post to advice for this exam.  Not that I’m the most qualified person to speak to (I won’t have my score for several weeks), but I have thought of a few general rules for boards prep I believe can help others.

I will try to write these up soon, since I know lots of people who are just beginning their schedules (I took the test somewhat early).  Until then, take care and thanks for sticking with me!

Posted in: Uncategorized