Government Shutdown Perspective: “Leaders Eat Last”

Posted on April 8, 2011

0


Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Mike Mullen - an exemplary leader.

I try to keep my political opinions to myself – this blog has no political agenda, and never will – but I think people need to read this, regardless of their views on abortion, war, and public spending.

Earlier today I received an e-mail from those who run my scholarship program, informing us that we will receive pay for the first 8 days of the month, and further stipend will be withheld until the impending shutdown is resolved.  I have enough money in savings and lead a meager existence (even for a medical student) to make ends meet, but this is not the case for many of my friends. I spoke with a buddy of mine who is concerned about paying his rent after being cleaned out by book expenses, as he is also preparing for the first part of his licensing exam.

While I’m concerned for my friends, I’m much more concerned about people who volunteer to put their lives on the line without knowing where they’ll be deployed to at a moment’s notice, or what they will face when they arrive. What about the young families who are already struggling to get by – is it right to force them to worry about being able to pay bills or put food on the table because righteous politicians can’t set aside their personal crusades?

Personally, I believe this entire situation is shameful. The world will laugh at us, and they have every reason to. They talk a mean game on Capitol Hill, but precious few of our leaders are concerned about acting in our best interests. Politicians should live like paupers, not oligarchs – perhaps then people would be motivated by more noble causes to work for the people.

ReadA Soldier Speaks Out On The Shutdown – ‘Leaders Eat Last.’ – Winds of Change.NET

“In the military, at chow time, there is one simple rule. Leaders eat last. Its simple, it makes sense, and it helps reinforce the basic truth of leadership in the military: you are there to help your subordinates complete the mission.”

You may have read my earlier post about NY Congressman Anthony Weiner’s stance the cost of the uninsured.  Enjoy this video of Rep. Weiner calling out the cowards on the 9/11 health care bill – this is a man who isn’t afraid to stand up for what’s right, and this is how I feel right now:

Posted in: Uncategorized