Ignorance is Bliss

Posted on February 28, 2011

0


La belle indifférence is a phrase sometimes encountered in psychiatry,  often associated with conversion disorder, used to describe a lack of appropriate concern for a physical symptom.  Now, I don’t speak French, but if you asked me to translate that literally, I’d give you “the beautiful indifference,” or “blissful ignorance.”

Well, whatever the hell it means, I need me some of that.  Occasionally, I’ll take a look at the search engine terms that have directed traffic through my blog.

Some of them are serious:

  • “rates of autism in unvaccinated children”
  • “vaccine controversy”
  • “prion encephalopathy aerosol”

Naturally, some of them are funny:

  • “foley catheter humor”
  • “orthopod humor”
  • “how to draw doc from snow white” (Seriously, why would you be directed here?  Is Google broken?)

But some of them – some of them are just creepy, and I wish I hadn’t seen them:

  • “psychiatrists are shit, shit”
  • “plow me”
  • “dirty little secrets of opioids”

At any rate, I hope you found what you were looking for.

Bonus:  An excellent related quote, taken from the stockpile that will eventually become my “Rules for My Unborn Son”

“If you’re playing a poker game and you look around the table and can’t tell who the sucker is, it’s you.”  – Paul Newman

Posted in: Humor, Uncategorized