What I’m Eating | Bright & Creamy Basil-Lime Guacamole

Posted on February 17, 2011

1


I had a bag of my favorite Trader Joe’s tortilla chips in the pantry, and a few perfectly ripe avocados.  I also got out of class early yesterday.  As far as I’m concerned, that’s the perfect storm for some homemade guacamole!

To be honest, the recipe I originally came up with involved toasted walnuts, but one of my roommates came home and I got a little distracted.  I still wanted to share the idea, in case you were feeling adventurous.  Additionally, I’m not a big fan of cumin or cilantro (which many people use in their guacamole), so you won’t find them in this recipe.

basil lime guacamole

I should probably use something better than my Blackberry to take these pictures.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Haas avocados, peeled & seeded (optional:  save one seed for garnish)
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, diced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped finely
  • 1 clove garlic, minced finely
  • 1 lime, zested & juiced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 medium red onion, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Start by combining the lemon & lime juice in a measuring cup or small bowl.  Add the lemon zest, salt, cayenne, and black pepper.
  2. Dice your onion & tomatoes, mince your garlic and chop your basil.
  3. Add the avocados to a medium bowl, and pour some of the citrus mix that has been sitting.  Mash roughly with a potato masher or a large fork.
  4. Fold in the onions, tomatoes, garlic & basil, along with the remaining citrus mix & seasoning.  Do this incrementally to avoid a final product that’s too loose.
  5. Press saran wrap flush with the surface of the guacamole, forming a seal.  Letting it sit for a few hours makes it taste even better!

I thought this was a delicious and well-balanced guacamole, even if it wasn’t exactly traditional.  In case you were wondering, the seasoning was added to the juice to allow the flavors to meld and be more evenly dispersed, which means you don’t have to worry about over-mashing.

As you may already know (and for the benefit of those who don’t), the juice from the lemon & lime prevents the fats in the avocado from oxidizing & browning (as does protecting the surface from air).

Posted in: Cooking, Nutrition